Upcoming Webinar from APIIDV and WSCADV: Meaningful Comprehenisve Immigration Reform Implications for Advocates and Strategies to Improve Protections for Victims of Domestic Violence

Upcoming Webinar from APIIDV and WSCADV: Meaningful Comprehenisve Immigration Reform Implications for Advocates and Strategies to Improve Protections for Victims of Domestic Violence

Immigrant victims of domestic violence face compounded vulnerabilities, especially newly arrived immigrants and victims whose immigration status is not permanently established.  Abusive partners often exploit a victim’s lack of immigration status, or dependent immigration status, as a way to maintain power and control and to keep victims silent. Indeed, many immigrant women find themselves trapped in abusive relationships because of concerns about their immigration status and fear of their own deportation and that of their abuser.  As policy makers consider how to meaningfully reform the nation’s immigration system, there are opportunities to safeguard and enhance protections for immigrant survivors of domestic violence.  Immigration reform is critical to help protect victims from abuse and safeguard options for victims to stay in the U.S. leally and permanently if they choose to and are eligible.  This webinar will explore current proposed policies addressing immigration reform and their impact on Asian survivors of domestic and sexual violence.

Webinar: Meaningful Comprehensive Immigration Reform: Implications for Advocates and Strategies Improve Protections for Victims of Domestic Violence

Hosted By: Asian and Pacific Islander Institute on Domestic Violence

Presentation by Grace Huang, Public Policy Coordinator, Washington State Coalition Against Domestic Violence (WSCADV)

Thursday, October 3, 2013

10:00AM Hawaii / 1:00PM Pacific / 4:00PM Eastern

Register online at: https://bwjp.ilinc.com/register/mchmwcz

Comments are closed.

Find Articles