Web Conference: Healthy Masculinity as a Strategy to Prevent Sexual and Domestic Violence

Web Conference: Healthy Masculinity as a Strategy to Prevent Sexual and Domestic Violence

In October 2012, 200 people gathered at the Healthy Masculinity Summit to kick off the Healthy Masculinity Action Project (HMAP). The Summit organizers based the event entirely on storytelling and conversations. This web conference will extend the healthy conversations initiated at the Summit and explore how promoting healthy masculinity is an important strategy to prevent sexual and domestic violence. Join other PreventConnect community members as we consider questions such as “What is healthy masculinity?” and “How can healthy masculinity strengthen prevention efforts?”

Learn more about the Healthy Masculinity Action Project in this podcast with the organizing partners sharing their impressions of the Healthy Masculinity Summit held in October 2012. The discussion includes Neil Irvin, Executive Director of Men Can Stop Rape, Anne Menard, Executive Director of the National Resource Center on Domestic Violence, Eesha Pandit, Executive Director of Men Stopping Violence, Joe Ehrmann, Founder and President of Coach for America and Tonya Lovelace, Director of Women of Color Network.

Now you can participate in a Prevent Connect Web Conference to explore healthy masculinity as a strategy to prevent sexual and domestic violence.

The event will take place on December 12th.This ninety-minute (90 min) session will start at 11 AM Pacific Standard  (2 PM Eastern, 1 PM Central, Noon Mountain, 10 AM Alaska, 8 AM Hawai’i).

Host: David Lee, CALCASA, PreventConnect

Conversation Starters:

Cost: Free

Learning Objectives:

  1. Use storytelling as a conversation-starter about healthy masculinity.
  2. Explain how healthy masculinity can be used as a strategy in the prevention of sexual and domestic violence.
  3. Identify at least one way in which healthy masculinity can be incorporated into prevention work.

What is a Web Conference?
A web conference is an opportunity to attend an online workshop by watching a presentation on your computer screen (using your internet connection) and hearing presenters through your telephone. PreventConnect web conferences feature an opportunity to participate in online question & answer sessions and live text chat between participants. If for some reason you are unable to join on your computer, you can download the presentation slides from our website and listen on your phone.

Real-Time Captioning Available: Instructions for accessing captioning during this web conference will be provided with your registration confirmation.

Compatibility: The iLinc web conference software used by Prevent Connect is compatible with both Microsoft Windows and Apple Macintosh computers. Click here for detailed system requirements.

REGISTER HERE.

Comments are closed.

Find Articles